Covid-19 information: Shipping might be delayed by a few days. Thank you for your patience and your understanding!

About Ceyla Lacerda

ceyla-ricardo

Born in Sao Paulo, designer Ceyla Lacerda made her debut in the artistic world due to pure chance at the end of the 1980s. She was working behind the scenes for a modelling agency, when a picture of her got mixed up with those of professional models… And just like that, her career was launched!

In 1988, she arrived in Paris to work for talented designers and iconic labels – Chanel, Christian Dior, YSL, Kenzo, Rochas, Fendi, Gianfranco Ferre, Oscar de la Renta...

As she worked with these great couturiers, she discovered the magic of creation, from the birth of an idea to its final result, made of the most beautiful yarns and fabrics.

From fashion, she later moved on to the world of mosaics, where she learned how to put together colors and textures. Just like in couture, she was amazed by the beauty that emerges from the combination of materials, colors and shapes.

In 2013, her interest for the richness of materials and her keen taste for aesthetics inspired her to create her own brand of home textiles – CEYLA LACERDA.

Ceyla then designed herself all throws and cushion covers knitted in her small São Paolo workshop, before initiating a collaboration with indigenous tribes in Brazil.

Inspired by the natural environment and cultural heritage of her native country, these new collections pay homage to the cultures of the Amazon rainforest, highlighting their precious heritage with remarkably contemporary designs. By giving part of the sale price to native communities, Ceyla Lacerda puts her passion to good use by helping the peoples who make Brazil so rich.

À propos de Ceyla Lacerda

Née à Sao Paulo, la créatrice Ceyla Lacerda fait, par hasard, ses débuts dans le monde artistique à la fin des années 1980. Alors qu’elle travaille en coulisse pour une agence de mannequinat, elle est repérée quand une photo d’elle s’égare parmi les books de modèles professionnelles.  Il n’en faut pas plus : sa carrière est lancée.

En 1988, elle arrive ainsi à Paris et défile pour des couturiers de talent et des maisons de légende : Chanel, Christian Dior, YSL, Kenzo, Rochas, Fendi, Gianfranco Ferre, Oscar de la Renta…

Au fil des rencontre avec ces grands couturiers, elle découvre la magie de la création, de la naissance d’une idée à la réalisation de pièces faites des plus beaux fils et tissus.

De la mode, elle passe plus tard au monde de la mosaïque, où elle apprend à associer couleurs et textures. Comme dans le monde la haute couture, elle s’émerveille ici encore de la beauté qui naît de l’assemblage des matières, des nuances et des formes.

Cet amour des matériaux et ce goût de l’esthétique lui ont inspiré la création, en 2013, de sa propre marque de textile d’intérieur CEYLA LACERDA.

Elle dessine d’abord elle-même les plaids et housses de coussins élégants et chaleureux qui sortent de son petit atelier de São Paolo, avant de se lancer dans la co-création avec des tribus autochtones du Brésil.

Inspirée par la nature et le patrimoine de son pays natal, elle crée ainsi une nouvelle collection qui rend hommage aux peuples du Brésil et met en avant un patrimoine ancestral dans des designs remarquablement contemporains. En reversant une partie des revenus à cette communauté désœuvrée, Ceyla Lacerda met sa passion au service des peuples qui font la richesse du Brésil.

Après une première participation fructueuse au salon Maison & Objet en septembre 2018, Ceyla Lacerda sera de nouveau présente au salon en janvier 2019. L’opportunité pour elle de présenter ses nouvelles co-créations, issues d’une collaboration solidaire avec la tribu guarani Tekoá Tape Mirim.